From Bankert's history of the NCPC
About 1800 the use of the land adjoining the church as a burial ground was discontinued when lhe following resolution was adopted by the Board of Trustees:

"Whereas, it is found from experience that burying grounds in the improved parts of towns are very injurious to the health of the inhabitants and otherwise inconvenient, and

Whereas, the present burying ground adjoining the Presbyterian Church in the town of New Castle and belonging to the same from its unnatural situation being low and wet, renders it unfit to be occupied for that purpose, therefore

Resolved, that it is the opinion of the Board that no stranger or others (Except those who already have part of their families buried there) shall after this day be permitted to bury in the said grounds."

John Stockton deeded to the trustees one-half acre of land west of town for use as a cemetery for the price of $1 on October 8, 1804. On October 26, 1832, the trustees purchased from Margaret Sexton a tract of land 255' 6" square containing about one acre for $90 which adjoined the original one-half acre.
[Note that the central plots are at an angle to the overall grid plan]

At that time there apparently was no road to this additional land. The New Castle Frenchtown Railroad which was adjacent to the cemetery agreed to transport funeral parties in railroad cars to the cemetery provided the time fixed for the funeral did not interfere with regular travel on the railroad. In later years the railroad agreed to construct and maintain a road leading to the entrance of the cemetery.